My hair’s story…

My mom relaxed my hair at a verrrry early age because it was “too thick, long, and difficult to deal with”. I believed that lie ever since. Finally, after decades of relaxing and damaging my hair (that nice thick hair was stringy and limp), I decided enough was enough. Not only was I scared of the damage the heavy chemicals did to my scalp (as I was now getting severe burns with each relaxer), but I was ready to embrace ME, just how our Creator beautifully created me. I chopped the remaining bits of relaxed hair last year. What have I learned? How much I love MY own hair, just as it naturally is. Also that it’s all about retraining yourself…our hair isn’t THAT difficult to deal with, when we do what works for us. Join me on my hair journey as I continue to learn that.

NaturallyMia's hair

4 responses to “My hair’s story…

  1. I received an awesome comment that I just had to share. Thank you, Mel! This means a LOT! Being able to uplift others by sharing parts of me is a true blessing.

    ===
    Name: Mel
    Email: **************
    Website: http://gratislearning.wordpress.com
    Comment: Hi Naturally Mia! I loved your article. Although I’m a white woman, I think women of any ethnicity can relate to your post and learn to love how our Creator made us, ” I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
    Wonderful are your works;
    my soul knows it very well.” -Psalm 139:14
    I love how natural hair looks on a woman of color, it is exotic, lovely, confident, and says, “I am me, I own my hair, it does NOT own me.” I’m happy for your freedom from the torturous (even potentially dangerous) process of chemical relaxers, (I used to do hair) but even more happy for your freedom from the lie that you needed to conform to anyone else’s perception or idealization of how your own hair ought to be. You have already achieved something so few of us (women especially) fail to do, and that is to make peace with how we are made, each beautifully unique, and embrace it! Thank you for sharing this freeing journey with the rest of us, very uplifting!

    Time: July 11, 2014 at 5:44 AM

    Like

  2. My hair story is very similar. My mom permed my hair when I was very young, and I permed my hair every 4 months for most of my life. One day, I became curious about what my actual texture was, and decided to go natural. I wish I would have done it a long time ago. I have only been natural for 2 years, but I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a reply...feedback is always encouraged!

