Winter Castor Oil Challenge

Hello December, goodbye and good riddance to pervy looking mustaches in ‘Movember’.  I’m following through with my Fall post about making changes (check it out at https://naturallymia.wordpress.com/2014/10/06/fall-equals-change-in-home-wardrobe-hair-self/) by challenging my hair.  I have joined the Winter Castor Oil Hair Challenge via KinkyCurlyCoilyMe (http://kinkycurlycoilyme.com/castor-oil-challenge-winter-2014-registration/).  Janell B. Stewart of KinkyCurlyCoilyMe, claims that,

Rubbing castor oil on your scalp and the roots of your hair will regenerate new hair growth within months. This will also thicken thinning hair. The anti-bacterial and anti-fungicidal properties of Ricinoleic Acid in castor oil protects the scalp and hair from infections which can cause hair loss. The Omega-9 fatty acids in castor oil also nourish the hair and prevent the scalp from drying. Castor oil is a humectant as it draws moisture into the hair and skin. Applying castor oil on hair will keep it looking soft, shiny and strong.”

Hair growth?  Soft, shiny and strong looking hair?  I was sold.  I’ve always been told that castor oil is a natural hair grower, so why not try it out?  If you don’t already have a bottle of castor oil, know that it is a great investment, especially if, like myself, you make your own lip balms and body butters.  A little goes a long way, and I find that bottles of castor oil tend to last quite a long time.  My most recent bottle I probably purchased a couple years ago, and I still have more than half left.  I use it in my hair, but definitely not as often as the challenge encourages.

The challenge begins this week and goes right until March 2015.  You state how you plan on using castor oil and how often.  For myself, I plan on using it along my edges, scalp and as a sealant between 4-5 times a week.  You measure your  hair and upload photos of your before (so you can compare at the end of March), and you check in weekly.

Here are two of my current pictures with my hair stretched/semi/kinda, but not really-straightened.

Front/side hair

Front/side hair

The hair at the front and side of my head are the same length.  Approximately 8 inches (20cm) long, stretched.

Back

Back

This is my hair in the back which is 8.5 inches (21cm) long.

I’m looking forward to ‘challenging my hair’ and seeing if I get any additional growth.  🙂

5 responses to “Winter Castor Oil Challenge

  1. Oh, I know. My mom use to rub it on my edges and scalp when I was younger too. That is when my hair was in it’s best shape. Castor oil is such a heavy oil, so yeah, I can imagine your hair feeling weighted down. That is why for the majority of this challenge I’ll just use it on my edges and scalp. Sealing I don’t do as often anyway. Are you going to take part in the challenge?

    Like

Leave a reply...feedback is always encouraged!

