“It’s Yours” Review of Products

Over the last few months, I’ve had the opportunity to incorporate some of the many unique hair products of the It’s Yours Hair Co. hair product line in my hair routine.  I used these products when I had my hair out in it’s natural state, and when I had it in a protective style with twist extensions.  The products I used were the following:

  • Detangling Sulfate-free Shampoo
  • Tea Tree Conditioner (with peppermint)
  • Leave-in Conditioner (with coconut and sweet almond oil)
  • Aloe Vera Curl Definer (with green tea and lavender extracts)

It’s Yours

It’s Yours Hair Co. was started by Shawne Morgan in Chicago, Illinois in 2001, initially selling human hair, but has since expanded to offer good quality, healthy hair products. They are a member of the Black Owned Beauty Supply Association (BOBSA), and do not test on animals.

Shawne Morgan, owner of It's Yours Hair Co. (Image licensed for repro 19 March2010)

Shawne Morgan, owner of It’s Yours Hair Co.
(Image licensed for repro 19 March 2010)

One of the many things I love about this product line is that I feel good using it because they use a lot of natural ingredients (i.e. aloe vera, essential oils, plant extracts, vitamin E), some organic ingredients, and are without parabens, silicone, mineral oil, petroleum, and sulphates.

Although it was created with the natural haired woman in mind (including when hair is in braids and locs), these products would work well on all hair textures.

My Experience:

I started off my hair wash regime using the Detangling Shampoo which claims to gently cleanse while removing build up.  It did exactly that.  It is a light, yet thick feeling shampoo, that actually lathers very richly, considering it does not contain SLS (Sodium Lauryl Sulfate). SLS is a chemical that has been said to cause skin irritation, and some even link to cancer, although no scientific evidence has yet to officially link the two.  SLS is in many shampoos and conditioners (even toothpastes, mouthwashes, soaps and detergents) because it is a cheap chemical that helps to create a rich lather.  So considering It’s Yours Hair Co. Detangling Shampoo doesn’t include SLS, I was impressed with how richly it lathered, as most natural shampoos I’ve used that are without this chemical, tend to lack when it comes to lathering my tresses.  I found this shampoo left my hair feeling very clean, yet not stripped, which is very important for natural hair.  I was most impressed with this shampoo as I used it after taking out my twist extensions, and any of us ladies who have had them in for 6 weeks like myself, know the kind of buildup that accumulates.  I did shampoo my hair twice, and pre-pooed with various oils first, but was still amazed with how clean this got my hair and scalp.

I followed up with the It’s Yours Hair Co. Tea Tree Conditioner, which is a thick and creamy conditioner that I absolutely loved.  I don’t know if it was the tea tree oil, peppermint, or both, but it almost immediately gave my scalp that feel good, tingly sensation as I massaged it in.  It was hard to only leave it in for the recommended 3 minutes, as I really enjoyed the feeling of the Tea Tree Conditioner.  It left my hair feeling well moisturized and fresh.  The only thing I wasn’t crazy about was the smell of this conditioner, as I found it to be a little strong.  As you only keep it in for 3 minutes, it’s not too bad, and doesn’t really linger in your hair, especially if you’re using other products afterwards.  If you like the smell of tea tree oil, it probably won’t both you.

Next, I moved on to the Leave-In Conditioner, which was a light, yet moisturizing leave-in, that I not only used as the final step when washing my hair, but also in my spray bottle, and whenever I felt my hair needed some moisture — so it doubled as a hair lotion for me.  It has a nice light scent, and was not heavy, which allowed me, on many occasions, to use it daily and not have to worry about much product buildup.

The Aloe Vera Curl Definer came in very handy for my wash and goes, twist outs, and even when I just wanted to tame some stray hairs when I pulled my hair back in one.  It comes with a pump for easy dispensing, and has a very light hold to keep various styles in place.  This is not to be confused with hair gel as it does not offer as strong a hold, nor does it have the moisture stripping properties as many hair gels do, but this is a simple way to get a very light hold on hair.  My favourite use for this was in my twist outs, when I didn’t have much time to let the twists or braids set, I’d lightly mist my hair with water and then smooth on a little bit of the curl definer, twist (or braid) my hair and then let it set for a little bit and then I was good to go.  Most recently I used it and let it set for just under an hour, my hair wasn’t even fully dry from the little water I had spritzed in it, and still, the curls maintained, without frizz.      

Price:

For a 12 oz bottle of the shampoo or conditioner, you can expect to spend $10 US on their website at www.itsyours.net. They also offer products in bundles, which ends up being a better deal.

Overall, my hair and I really enjoyed these products.  I found it left my hair feeling light, clean, moisturized, well defined, and soft.  I would highly recommend this to my naturalistas who are looking for a healthy product line for their tresses.

Have you tried any of these products? Feel free to share your experiences, thoughts, or questions in the comment section below.

Leave a reply...feedback is always encouraged!

